17 Mile Drive

(Written by Bill)

One of our favorite places to, “get away”, is a quaint coastal town called Carmel located within the Monterey Peninsula in northern California.  Carmel is only about a 2.5 hour drive from the San Francisco Bay Area making it an easy place to visit, even on the spur-of-the-moment. Most people know this area by the world renowned Pebble Beach Golf Course and although its unquestionably one of the greatest courses in the world, there is so much more to see and do in the area. One such activity that we always include when visiting is to take the 17 mile drive.

17-Mile Drive is widely recognized as one of the most scenic drives in the world. This famous coastal landmark runs from Pacific Grove to Pebble Beach on the Monterey Peninsula, featuring awe-inspiring vistas and legendary sites perfect for a day of exploration.

One of the more famous sites along the route is the Lone Cypress which is very prettily situated, as can be seen in the photos. Years ago, you could get closer, but today the 250-plus-year-old tree has some added protection from overzealous visitors in the form of limited access.

Whether the weather is good or bad, the drive is simply magnificent.  We offer you some photo’s to show just some of the beauty available and hope you have a chance to travel this scenic highway and enjoy the wonderful sights it offers.

 

Hope you enjoy…

About motioners

We love backpacking and photography!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to 17 Mile Drive

  1. beautiful photos!! So would love to visit place…you captured its beauty.

  2. MrsBoardwell says:

    I love the coast & sea pictures, makes me wish that a) it was summer already and b) I could just get in the van and drive for 2.5 hrs to get to where you walked ^_^

    • motioners says:

      There is barely a day that passes that we don’t think about how lucky we are to live so close to so many wondrous locations. Thanks for giving us your thoughts, we do appreciate them. bill

  3. Jerry says:

    Beautiful guys, well done. One question. What do you use to put your photos in a slideshow format?

    • motioners says:

      Greatly enjoy seeing you on our comment board. To show images in a slideshow format, go to Settings-media-Image Gallery Carousel-enable carousel, and put a checkmark in the box labeled “Display images in full-size carousel slideshow”. Hope this answers your question. Thanks for the feedback. bill

      • Jerry says:

        I know it has been a while since I’ve been hear so thought I’d drop by. Thanks for the info on the slide show.

  4. adinparadise says:

    Wonderful photos. I love that lone Cypress tree. It must be so strong to withstand the elements the way it has. :)

  5. renxkyoko says:

    I think I’ve been there…. Is there a place there named Carmel by the bay or something. The place is beautiful, quaint and scenic…. and i think there are no house #s ! And I think Clint Eastwood used to be the mayor of this town.

    • motioners says:

      You’re thinking of “Carmel by the sea”. A great catch line. I’m in agreement with you on the “quaint and scenic”. They actually do have house numbers, but the are very little ones :) Clint Eastwood served a single two year term as Mayor of Carmel (1986-88) and was also owner of a restaurant in downtown Carmel named The Hogs Breath (he no longer owns). You were pretty good on all of the notes you posted. Thanks for adding more color to the post. bill

  6. Stunning just stunning! The fine mist from the crashing waves took my breath away. What a place. Thank you. Sharon

    • motioners says:

      We have been there many times in both good weather and not-so-good. I feel Carmel shows a totally different side when a storm rolls through (powerful, mysterious, yet charming). I was happy to be there with my camera when the skies were dark and ominous. Thank you for your kind comments. bill

  7. This beautifully captures some of the iconic views of 17 mile drive…

    • motioners says:

      We are assuming you have been to this magnificent 17 mile stretch. Our goal was to show not just the normal iconic views (The Lone Cypress), but also some that may not have been so obvious as we drove through. Thanks very much for your feedback. bill

  8. Opalla says:

    I cannot agree more. I stayed at Carmel instead of Montery when I did the Big Sure race. Your post brought back fond memories.

  9. I drove through there a few years ago on way from San Francisco to San Diego.
    Beautiful photographs remind me of beautiful memories.

  10. motioners says:

    Well, we must say, your comment is awesome! Thanks a million! bill

  11. juergen61 says:

    hello bill,
    sitting at my home desk, in front of me three computer g5 + all aditional stuff, working on a boring post job, looking through the window…see the grey town skyline of hamburg, germany…and on the computer screen your great landscape pictures…well , start dreaming :-)

  12. Awesome set of photos, love the tree (left a comment there) and the Godwits.

    AV

  13. lensandpensbysally says:

    Nice set of images of one of my favorite destinations: Northern California.

  14. likeitiz says:

    Hi Bill. Did you know that the first time we were driven through the 17 mile drive was sometime in the mid-70′s. I was very young then. We were visiting family. Little did I know then that I would be living in the Bay Area and raising a family here, with Carmel close by. I found the place magical then.

    Thanks for the Lone Cypress Tree. It’s still such an iconic image. I also love the “hint of Aqua.” So beautiful!

  15. Sheryl says:

    Absolutely beautiful! I want to do this drive some day soon.

  16. Ann says:

    Hi! I just wanted to drop you a note and say how much I enjoy your posts. I live in Pennsylvania now but was born and raised in Alameda, CA (spent weekends at a friend’s place in Discovery Bay years ago) and so many of your posts remind me of trips I’ve taken and places I’ve been. Just wanted to say thanks :)

    • motioners says:

      Great to hear from you Ann. I believe I’ve mention that we live in Discovery Bay. Great place, and we will do a blog on our community someday soon. I use to work in Alameda next the the Oakland Raiders offices. It’s a terrific place to live. How do you like Pennsylvania? Thanks for your note back to us. bill

  17. Beautiful seascape photos

    • motioners says:

      As you drive 17 mile drive you experience all kinds of different locations (nature) that really get your emotions flowing. Peaceful is one of the feelings. Thank you for sharing your thought. bill

  18. daniellajoe says:

    Bill you need to go to a tropical island with lots of coconut trees, I have just the place for you, you will feel like you are in paradise :-)

  19. melanietoulouse says:

    OMG! quelle nostalgie, Bill… :-) I spent 2 nights in Carmel… I miss California! :-)
    Have a great weekend & my very best…

  20. Hi motioners. I nominated you with a Very Inspiring Blogger Award for your good blog. I like your nice pictures of the adventure blog.
    http://joellewrites.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/very-inspiring-blogger-award/
    Greetings

    • motioners says:

      Oh, what an honor. We are a bit slow in responding because we have been sooo busy recently (this is good). Please allow us a a little time to take action on your kind offering. Thank you very much! bill

  21. Rachel says:

    You are nominated for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. I think your blog is inspirational and I love your photos/stories! Find the rules at my blog for accepting http://363photos.wordpress.com/2013/05/11/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  22. Janet says:

    Hello, Bill. For some reason I wasn’t getting your updated posts. I fixed that now. I visited the Pebble Beach area (Carmel) in January. It’s become one of my favorite places. Your beautiful photos brought back good memories of that week spent with my family.

Please leave a comment...

