Cross Country – Liberty vs Antioch High School

(written by Bill)

Went to Contra Loma Regional Park in Antioch yesterday to shoot the varsity boys and girls cross country meet between Liberty and Antioch High School.

This was a regular season meet with about 10-15 runners in each race on a 3.2 mile track. The course was very hilly making it a real challenge for the runners. Temps were in the low 80’s (Fahrenheit) with a light breeze and clear blue skies.  What a wonderful location for the athletes with the park looking like a virtual oasis in the countryside.

As you can see in the photos, the athletes ran through trees, up over rolling hills of dry grass, and alongside a gorgeous lake.  There were a number of wild turkeys in the park and they seemed somewhat perplexed by all the runners.  All in all a beautiful setting and terrific race.

As a side note – I typically shoot cross country races with a Canon 70-200mm f2.8 lens which allows me to capture the runners from a distance and is fast enough to stop their motion.  For this race, I decided to add my 2x extender (multiplier).  It’s not that I needed the extra distance, I just wanted to see how the photos would turn out.  After review, I noticed they weren’t quite as sharp. Not sure I’ll use the extender again for CC races. Comments?

You can see more photo’s of the race by clicking here, More CC photos

Hope you enjoy…

About motioners

We love backpacking and photography!
Gallery | This entry was posted in Cross Country Meet, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cross Country – Liberty vs Antioch High School

  1. Janet says:

    Good photos (including the turkey). 🙂 Contra Loma is a nice park to visit. I spent many hours there with my family picnicking and watching my boys play baseball. There are several good hiking trails there too. It’s much improved from the time when I was a kid.

    • motioners says:

      Janet,

      I figured you would be familiar with Contra Loma Park 🙂 . I’m quite amazed that I had never been there before this race, but glad this race got me there. Loved it, and will look at some of the trails for future hikes. thanks…

  2. orbphotog says:

    Having just photographed the runners of the Bisbee 1000 Stair Climb I appreciate your changing viewpoint. Especially like the turkey.

    • motioners says:

      I like to catch something that’s unique from each location, when possible. In this case the turkeys just happened by so what the heck. When I shot the race at Deer Valley, I looked up during a little break between runs and noticed a buzzard flying ominously overhead, so I shot it (in photographers terms) and included it in the batch of photos. Thanks for your visit to our blog and for your comment. I’ll be watching your site. bill

Please leave a comment...

