New England Road Trip – Introduction and Part 1

(written by Bill)

Back in September of 2010 my wife and I, who live in California, decided to take a road trip through the New England States.  The journey would last 21 days and cover 8 states – Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Pennsylvania, New York, Connecticut, and Rhode Island.

Our plan was to catch a red-eye from San Francisco to Boston which would arrive at 7:00am. We would rent a car and drive up to Bar Harbor Maine which would be our first nights destination.  We made hotel reservations for the first 2 nights but from then on it would be free wheeling, finding a place to stay impromptu at the end of each day.

This will be the first in a series of blogs covering our 21 day adventure.

Part 1 –  Boston Massachusetts, to Bar Harbor Maine (281 miles).  We left the airport in our rental car about 8:30am. Many stops were made along the way to enjoy the scenery or something indigenous to the area.

Our only touristy stop for day one was at Strawberry Banke. This is an outdoor history museum located in the South End historic district of Portsmouth, New Hampshire. What a great place to go to reconnect with our history dating all the way back to the 1600’s. I have included a few photos of the quaint little town.

After Strawberry Banke, we were back on the road and on to Maine. As we drove up the coast we decided to make a stop at a town called Kennebunkport.  Great place to stretch our legs and enjoy the wonderful ambiance. So different than California. I’ve included a photo taken of a coastal home in Kennebunkport.

By early evening it began to rain so we focused on our drive and pulled into our hotel at about 9:30pm. After getting our luggage into the room we kicked off our shoes and reminisced about the days drive.  Even with the bad weather it was a beautiful day.

Our plan was to stay in Bar Harbor for 2 days with a large list of “things to do” which will be the topic of part 2 in this “New England Road Trip” series.

Click here to see more photos of Strawberry Banke and Kennebunkport

Hope you enjoy…

About motioners

We love backpacking and photography!
Gallery | This entry was posted in New England States, Photography, Road Trip, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to New England Road Trip – Introduction and Part 1

  1. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful Bill. I will be watching for the next part.

  2. mikemcmurray says:

    I love the window shot and the coast shot.

  3. Pani Peonia says:

    Have you been to Nantucket? I dream of going there some day…

  4. WM says:

    How beautiful is this world! thanks a lot.

  5. I love looking at your posts, New England Road Trip – Introduction and Part 1 | MOTION Photography was included in my bookmarks in chrome.

  6. Thanks for your pics. I have lived in Vermont and Maine for two years – but long, long ago. I have had a great time there. In a way New England seemed not so US-American to me, a lovely place to live for an European intellectual.
    Greetings from a literary trip through Ireland
    Klausbernd
    who doesn`t live in New England anymore but in Merry Old England

    • motioners says:

      I believe you hit the target with your remarks about New England. I found it to be a breath of fresh air during our visit. Ah, but Merry Old England, now that’s the place to be! Hope the photo’s brought back some good memories for you. bill

  7. motioners says:

    I believe you hit the target with your remarks about New England. I found it to be a breath of fresh air during our visit. Ah, but Merry Old England, now that’s the place to be! Hope the photo’s brought back some good memories for you. bill

  8. It’s amazing for me to have a website, which is good in support of my experience. thanks admin

  9. Camille says:

    My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on several websites for about a
    year and am worried about switching to another platform.

    I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress
    posts into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Please leave a comment...

