New England Road Trip; Part 3 – New Hampshire

(written by Bill)

This is a series of blogs covering a 21 day road-trip my wife and I made through eight New England States during the month of September – Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Pennsylvania, New York, Connecticut, and Rhode Island.

Part 3 – On our third day we headed west to New Hampshire.  The drive from Bar Harbor through the middle and western section of Maine was wonderful and I could write a lot about it but I will focus on New Hampshire in todays blog.

Once across the border into New Hampshire we headed straight to Mount Washington’s Cog Railway. This happens to be the highest peak in the North Eastern States and has some of the worst recorded weather in the world!  Although you are able to drive your car up to the 6,288′ summit, , I strongly recommend you take the Cog Railway. I guarantee it will make you feel like you’ve stepped back in time.

When we got on the train everyone was looking at me like I was crazy. Seems I was the only one wearing shorts. Even though it was September and comfortably warm when we boarded, it was literally freezing at the top of Mt Washington (~32F, 0C).

After our train experience we were back in the car driving through some gorgeous forests when we came upon a beautiful lake that beckoned us to stop and have lunch. As we sat enjoying the view, a couple of folks came by and told us they had seen a moose just around the lake.  Having never seen one in the wild we couldn’t resist and ventured out into the wilderness.  As luck would have it we were rewarded with our first sighting.

Later in the day as we were driving on the Kancamagus Highway we came upon a couple of covered bridges. Since we don’t see a lot of these on the west coast we had to stop and take some pictures.  I plan on showing more covered bridges in this series since we really have a fascination and love for their historical value.

Click here to see more photos of our first day in New Hampshire

Hope you enjoy…

About motioners

We love backpacking and photography!
Gallery | This entry was posted in New England States, Photography, Road Trip, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to New England Road Trip; Part 3 – New Hampshire

  1. WM says:

    “Live Free or Die” … Stirring fraze for person born in my part of Europe. Beautiful and interesting photos.

    • motioners says:

      It truly is a powerful statement! Thanks very much for your kind words in reply. New Hampshire was very beautiful and interesting. We really loved our time there. bill

  2. I know what you mean about it being cold on the mountain top. Mount Evans in Colorado is a place I visited a couple of years ago. And, even in summer you do need a jacket by the time you reach the top.

  3. Bernice says:

    Greg and I went to NH twice to go hiking. We took a tour van to the top of Mt. Washington. The first time it was clear and you could see for miles. But it was windy and cold. This year, the visibility was about 100 feet. Unbelievably cold and you could barely walk because of the winds. But regardless we always enjoy going to the top of Mt. Washington. Great pics!

  4. motioners says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed being at the summit of Mt Washington. It felt good to be at a spot where the Appalachian Trail runs through (and oh-by-the-way, the highest point on the Appalachian Trail north of Tennessee). I know you understand how different the temps can be from bottom to top. Thanks for your feedback. bill

  5. That photo of the passengers in the train almost looks like you’re on a roller coaster! =D
    Was it a coal engine?
    Great photos, as usual! =)

    • motioners says:

      Oops, sorry for my delay in response. Christmas season is really busy! I guess it does resemble a roller coaster, maybe that’s why I like it (cause I like roller coasters). The train that pushed us up the mountain was an actual steam engine, pretty neat. They have other more efficient engines, but I’m glad we got to go up with this one. Side note, we had to stop half way up to add more water from a big old fashion looking tank. Thanks for the note back. bill

  6. Charlie says:

    covered bridges are pretty interesting – I don’t know that I’ve seen them anywhere else in the world, except perhaps for Rialto in Venice, but thats not quite the same thing!

    • motioners says:

      Rialto bridge is gorgeous, but you’re probably right, not the same. It’s in a league of its own. I agree with you that covered bridges are pretty interesting though. I am fascinated by their history. Thanks for taking the time to comment. bill

  7. orbphotog says:

    Thanks for all your visits to my blog. Always makes me smile to see your image.

    • motioners says:

      I was just looking at a backpacking photo where we where hiking in the early hours of the morning (3:30am) to make a summit. We needed to use the our flash to take pictures since it was totally dark and there are orbs in every one. Couldn’t help but think of you and your blog. Cool! Thanks for visiting me as well. bill

Please leave a comment...

