New England Road Trip; Chapter 5 – Niagara Falls

(written by Bill)

This is a series of blogs covering a 21 day road-trip my wife and I made through eight New England States during the month of September – Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Pennsylvania, New York, Connecticut, and Rhode Island.

I’ve covered Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont to date.

Chapter 5 – We were up early and ready to leave Vermont and spend the day driving to our next destination, Niagara Falls in New York (had never been there before).  After driving for so many days on the back roads it felt boring to get on a freeway, but, with that being said once we arrived at Niagara Falls it was all worth it.

We stayed at the Marriott on the Canadian side of the falls since we had enough points to get a really good room, and I must say it had a fabulous view just above the Canadian Falls!

We spent the afternoon and evening enjoying the sights and tourist spots with clear blue skies.  When we woke up (about 4:00am to take some photos) clouds where beginning to gather and by breakfast time it was raining. After eating we headed to the Maid of the Mist boat cruise to get a close up view from under the falls.  Wow, was it ever spectacular and a must see attraction!

Although they supply you with a plastic rain cover you can expect to get wet, especially if it’s raining out. There were a lot more tourist attractions to see, but we decided to get back on the road and keep moving.

Click here to see more photo’s on Niagara Falls

Our next blog will be about a stop we made at a small town in Pennsylvania called Intercourse.  Don’t let the name fool you, we met some traveling ladies at the Four Chimney’s Inn back in Vermont who told us all about this wonderful Amish town and decided to pay it a visit.

Hope you enjoy…

About motioners

We love backpacking and photography!
Gallery | This entry was posted in New England States, Photography, Road Trip, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to New England Road Trip; Chapter 5 – Niagara Falls

  1. Beautiful shots! Congrats =)

  2. All your great photos of Niagara remind me of my visit there. And, recently I read a book about a lady that went over the falls in a barrel. Here’s a link to the overview of the book and my review below it: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9211991-queen-of-the-falls

  3. The morning shots are stunning!

    • motioners says:

      I took an evening shot the night before, obviously in the opposite direction, that turned out a deep yellow/orange with hints of red. It’s posted on my photo website (there is a link to more photos near the bottom of my blog). There’s something about a morning shot, peaceful I guess. Thanks for writing back. bill

  4. dawntodusk10 says:

    The story and the photos are absolutely amazing!!

  5. orbphotog says:

    We had a terrific lightening storm when we were there on our honeymoon, also in a September. Maid of the Mist went incredibly close to the Falls, grown men were getting nervous.

    • motioners says:

      I bet the lighting show was pretty exciting!! You can bet I would have been more nervous myself if it hadn’t been for the photo opportunity. We get distracted a bit when we’re focused on a particular shot. Enjoyed the comment, thank. bill

  6. likeitiz says:

    When we lived in Toronto, we went to Niagara Falls so often in the first five years we were there just to bring every close friend or family to see this breathtaking view. That was in the late 80’s to the 90’s. Thanks for reminding me of the place.

    • motioners says:

      I’m happy that it bought back good memories for you, that’s what photo’s can do 🙂 I am envious of you for having the opportunity to spend so much time there (even if it was in the past. Thanks for sharing. bill

  7. linhartb says:

    Love the sunrise pictures!

    • motioners says:

      I’m told sunsets and sunrises are a dime a dozen because there are so many of them out there (photos), however, they are breathtaking! Appreciate your comment, you are spot on. bill

  8. lizziejoy10 says:

    Beautiful photos, Bill. I especially love the 4am sunrise – stunning. Thank you.

  9. Waouh ! Very nice shots !

  10. Janet says:

    I have never seen Niagra Falls in the way you photographed it showing the whole area. It sure looks different than what I had imagined in my mind. Great photos.

    • motioners says:

      It was very busy with people on both sides, USA and Canada. I loved the magnificence of the massive amount of water spilling over the falls every second. Wow. We lucked out on a great room where we could get a great view of the falls. Thanks for your positive reply Janet. bill

  11. Awesome photographs. I love the view at sunrise. That’s not a way we typically get to see the falls. Well done on the 4 am sacrifice, it paid off!

  12. andipab says:

    I hope that you will accept Very Inspiring Blogger Award – Your photos and reflections are for me a true inspiration! Look at http://andrzejphoto.wordpress.com/2012/12/11/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  13. Wow! fantastic landscape

  14. I was there in the winter of 89… I can still feel the rumble of the falls on the Canadian side and the mist that would move your hair… beautiful photos… takes me back down memory lane… 🙂

  15. ajaytao2010 says:

    Beautiful

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections,
    I feel you may find something of your interest.

Please leave a comment...

